3 Things We Can Learn From Paraguayans

It’s been about a week since I’ve arrived in Paraguay and surprisingly the transition has been smooth despite not having wifi, water, air conditioning, or a car. Okay, I’m exaggerating a bit–we didn’t have each of those for only a day, except for the wifi. It’s been out since we got here. I’m a strong believer that everything happens for a reason. During that time, I’ve observed the landscape and everyday life. That being said, here are three things I learned so from being in Paraguay.

  1. The greetings: When Paraguayans meet you for the first time, especially in closer-knit circles, they greet you with a kiss on both cheeks. At first, this startled me, even though I knew about it. Even if it’s inconvenient, they’ll greet everyone. There is such a stark contrast in comparison to America, where (at least in my expimg_9915erience) it takes people longer to warm up to one another. Needless to say, I feel very welcomed here.
  2. Drinking Tereré: This is a common drink especially in the summertime in Paraguay. It’s basically a loose tea from Yerba Mate, but instead of hot water, it’s made with cold water. Everywhere you go you’ll see people carrying these containers with a little pouch on the side for a cup full of Tereré. Throughout the hot humid days, people will drink it to stay cool. It’s also meant to be shared, so you’ll see people passing it around.
  3. The spectrum of poverty: John Perkins said, “Though poverty does exist in America it exists at a level far above the level of poverty in a Third World country” (One Blood). Being here, I have seen this to be true. The town that my grandparents live in is not the worst I have yet to see, but people are still struggling to put food on the table with a monthly paycheck of about $200. My frame of reference is limited, but talking to Baba (my grandma) she has come to learn acceptance from her many trips to Paraguay. Every trip she has to remember that she is only a visitor and to take into account patience for a culture that is not her own and to keep in mind how others view her (a foreigner). In the end, she has learned to not to be so critical, which can be challenging when interacting with people who have a different way of thinking and doing life. The best policy: kindness. 

Overall, still transitioning into what my life will look like (for the next 3ish months !!!) and trying to learn and cultivate curiosity one day at a time. Thanks for reading along!

Peace + Grace

Tabi V

Leave a comment